New Responsibilities

We’ve had a bit of a reshuffle at work and I’ve ended up with some slightly different responsibilities. I’m now going to be taking the lead on a project to redesign the teaching sessions we offer to PhD students. Talk about nerve-racking! This isn’t what I’d expected when I applied for this maternity-cover post at all – not that I’m complaining, but it’s a big thing for a temporary person to be in charge of.

As a newly-minted librarian fresh out of library school, this is my first big project and, really, my first challenge too. I’ve done stuff that’s been quite scary this year, such as teaching, contributing to research, and creating online resources, but it’s all been stuff that I’ve done before, just on a slightly larger scale. Organising a project, delegating responsibilities, and developing a teaching programme that will be delivered to at least 400 people?! This is new. And very big. It’s all a bit daunting.

I’m really excited about the whole thing, of course. I’ve already got stuck in and written an action plan with lists of “deliverables” and dates and things, and I’m looking forward to getting everyone involved in the project. I’ve been doing some background reading and research and am feeling like we’re going to end up creating something that really works. It’s just… it’s a lot of responsibility and I don’t want to get it wrong! My colleagues are of course very supportive and willing to help out, but I’m still really conscious that they’ve been doing this sort of thing for longer than I have and they have tons more experience than me. But I suppose everyone’s got to start somewhere, and I’ll never know whether I’m good at managing projects if I don’t ever take one on.

It probably doesn’t help that I just went on the public library catalogue to see if they had any project management books, and it suggested I refine my search to “suspense fiction”, “thriller” or “horror”. No, seriously.

suspense fiction

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “New Responsibilities

  1. you’re going to be fab, I know it 🙂 library society was a big project, so you’ve got lots of relevant experience after all! what an exciting thing to be involved with, wishing you all the best with it & looking forward to seeing what you produce 🙂

Leave a Reply

