The final countdown

Firstly, I should mention my last post. I’ve never had as much traffic to my blog as I have over the last three days – maybe I should write semi-controversial things about CILIP more often! I was interested to see the various responses here and on Twitter from people at different stages in their careers. Bethan Ruddock has written a blog in response, explaining her reasoning for being a member of professional bodies. It’s a really good read, and it was good to see a different point of view on the matter. I should say that I’m absolutely not dead set against joining CILIP, and I think there are sound arguments for and against. I think the points I raised, while perhaps simplistic, are things that should be thought about and discussed, and I’ll be interested to see what happens with regard to the fees proposals at the AGM.

Anyway, back to your regularly scheduled blog post…

My GT year is very nearly over – sob! I’ve got 8 working days left (plus a week of annual leave) and then I’m outta here (said in cheesy American accent). I’m just going around work tying up loose ends, making sure I’m not leaving anything without telling someone what it is. I’m the sort of person who likes to be prepared well in advance (if you’d seen the amount of homework I did last-minute at school, you’d be very surprised to hear this) so I’ve already made a start on clearing my desk and other things that could probably wait until the last day. I’m also starting a few new things, such as writing guides on using databases and eBooks, and writing out book orders, and it’s a bit strange to know I won’t ever see the results of these things, but it’s nice to know that I’m doing things that will be put to good use in the upcoming year. It’s weird – I’m sort of well-prepared for leaving, but on the other hand it’s not really hit me yet that I’ll be (briefly) unemployed in three weeks’ time. What am I going to do with all my free time and no money?! I’m going to be very up-to-date on all things daytime-TV-related. Perhaps I shall take up knitting. Again. I’m planning to have a good go at getting through my to-read list as well.

Whatever I do, I know I’m going to miss the library. It’s a bit repetitive to say I’ve learned so much here, but I really have, and I’ve really enjoyed doing it, even the stuff that people think I’m weird to like (spreadsheets, bulk withdrawals, other data-entry-related things). I met my “replacement” the other day and I was trying to explain the sorts of things I’ve done this year, but realised it’d probably take all day! I really didn’t expect to do such a wide variety of things this year, from digitisation to teaching to stock editing and everything else in between. It’s been so interesting, all of it, and I’m really grateful to have had this opportunity. I’m excited to move on, too, and learn some of the theory behind the stuff I’ve done and seen this year (and more besides), as well as getting some experience of a new university, a new library and a new city. I’m also weirdly excited for the new batch of GTs, these people I’ve never actually met! I know what’s coming up for them in their GT year and it’s going to be really busy and really interesting. I sort of wish I was sticking around to see it all!

I saw this video yesterday from the University of Sheffield, which has made me even more excited about starting there:

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

