And… Breathe.

It’s the end of week two and I’m feeling quite drained. I’m curled up in bed watching Masterchef and feeling a bit sorry for myself because I think I’ve got a cold coming on. I’m hoping a quiet weekend full of relaxing will help sort me out!

This week hasn’t quite lived up to the promise of last week. Most of the senior librarians (i.e. the ones who teach me stuff) have been away or in meetings, so I’ve been sort of hovering around at a loose end. Later in the year I’ll be able to keep busy with stuff like digitisation and book ordering, but I don’t know nearly enough yet to be able to just do it without guidance. I was alright at the start of the week, as I still had some stuff to sort out, but once I’d finished it… that was it. Nothing else to do.

It’s been quite a frustrating week as I have been feeling like the work experience kid, getting under everyone’s feet and constantly needing to be given little tasks to do. I don’t really like having to keep asking if there’s anything I can do, either, as it feels like I’m making a nuisance of myself and distracting people from what they’re supposed to be doing.

Anyway. I don’t want to be too whiny about the whole thing – it’s the start of term and it’s difficult for the librarians to balance all the stuff they’ve got to do to get ready for next week with looking after me. It’s just really tough feeling like I’m not being helpful in any way (even though everyone’s apologised for not being able to find anything for me to help with).

On the bright side, I went to a social at the Deaf Institute (“cafe bar and music hall”) with some of the other librarians on Wednesday night and had a great time chatting with the other GTs about how they’re getting on, as well as getting to know some of the more senior staff from the various sites. It was nice to actually go out in Manchester too – I haven’t had the chance to explore much and having other people show me interesting places makes a bit of a change from getting hopelessly lost on my own! Hopefully there’ll be more opportunities like this in the future.

For now I’m going to stay curled up and conserve my energy, in order to be fighting fit for meeting all the students on Monday. Wish me luck! I’ll let you know how it goes… 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

